Threads And Whips

As Tiffany’s role in this first Veronica novel slowly becomes more apparent to those involved, not least Veronica herself, a crowd of other characters are beginning to gather and impatiently await their entry into the saga.

It was always going to happen. The list of dramatis personae is long, and whilst the principals are easily separated from the not-so-key players (I hesitate to call them minor characters since they all have an impact on the story, whether it be now or in the eventual ninth novel) the question that arises is, when and how does each of them appear?

Gabriel, arguably the most important male alongside Veronica’s brother, must be involved sooner rather than later. His story arc is long and intricate, stretching far beyond the first of these novels, and his early revelation will dictate a number of events or their outcomes.

Sadie, whose name is no coincidence given her liking for drawing blood at the tip of a whip (among other indulgences) is also a crucial cog on the Veronica wheel, but plotlines mean she won’t be encountered for some time.

Sian, meanwhile, is waiting much more patiently, and will meet Veronica in the not too distant future, although at the moment I’ve yet to engineer the precise means by which their paths are going to cross.

And then there’s Tiffany’s family, all of whom must be brought into the foreground. Amongst them, Anna has my most likely empathy, but until I find out for sure which of the relations is going to throw the most proverbial spanners into the works I’m not going to commit myself to that particular piece of favouritism.

Through these people, three distinct plot threads will be launched, at least two of which are to become wrapped around each other, and it wouldn’t surprise me whatsoever if the third somehow gets mixed up with them before the first of Veronica’s tales reaches its partial conclusion.

Veronica is a bit grumpy at the moment (she’s not often angry, but can be prone to what I think of as a sort of cute irritability) after learning something about her brother, and I’ve had a restless day myself, so we’re taking 24 hours away from it all to relax and freshen up before a weekend of more writing.

As for me, I’m a teeny bit anxious about Gabriel. When the reader first meets him, the atmosphere and general aura about him have to be spot on to ensure the mystery of the man is established. It’s a challenge, and one I’m equal to, but I suspect it’s also a section of which I’ll be hugely self-critical when it comes to revising the first draft later in the year.

On the other hand, at least I don’t ever have to be in the same place as Sadie and her whip, or whatever other toys she has hidden away. Somebody is inevitably going to get hurt, and I’m really hoping it’s not Veronica.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Threads And Whips

  1. Sounds like a plan forms up nicely…

  2. Jessica

    Interesting read, I’m sure the word ‘whips’ in the blog title will have many running this way!

    • One does what one can to entice a new readership! Rest assured that Sadie’s penchant for whips (and other sadistic instruments) is a justified device in the context of the novel, although I may allow myself to have a little bit of fun with her character when the narrative permits.

Leave a comment